Anthony Awards

Each year the attendees at Bouchercon nominate and select the Anthony Awards in a minimum of five categories:

  1. Best Novel
  2. Best First Novel
  3. Best Paperback Original
  4. Best Short Story
  5. Best Critical Nonfiction Work
  6. Best Children’s/YA Novel
  7. Best Anthology
  8. Best Novella (8,000-40,000 words)

Nominations will be solicited from attendees at Bouchercon 2016 and/or registrants for Bouchercon 2017.  

Your Anthony Award nomination ballot was emailed on Tuesday, February 28.

The nomination form will be coming from If you don’t see it in your inbox, please check your spam/junk folder. If it’s not there by Wednesday, March 1, please message us.

Anthony nomination responses are due back by April 30.
Please respond by using the Survey Monkey link found in the emailed ballot.

DO NOT send the working form. 

As soon as all nominations are tabulated, the 2017 Anthony Award Nominees will be announced. Nominees will be announced on this website and our social media channels by mid-August 2017 at the latest.

The winner will be announced immediately following the Sunday Brunch. While the Sunday Brunch is a ticketed event (buy your tickets through the Registration process), all Bouchercon attendees may attend the short awards ceremony that immediately follows.

Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White, 1911-1968) was a writer, editor, and critic of science fiction and mystery who came to be regarded as the cornerstone of modern mystery analysis. He championed many crime-writing greats long before the mainstream literary establishment recognized their talents, and remained an indefatigable fan and insightful reviewer of every category of crime fiction. He helped found Mystery Writers of America in 1946 and served as its president in 1951.

Both the Anthony Awards and the Anthony Boucher Memorial World Mystery Convention (commonly referred to as “Bouchercon”) are named in his honour.